AHA Directory Online

Institution Details


Society for History Education, Inc.
Society for History Education, Inc. Dept. of History, California State Univ.
1250 N. Bellflower Blvd.
Long Beach, CA 90840-1601
Phone: 562.985.2573
Fax: 562.985.5431
Email: info@thehistoryteacher.org
Email: info@societyforhistoryeducation.org
Website: http://www.societyforhistoryeducation.org/


The Society for History Education is an educational and historical non-profit organization affiliated with the American Historical Association, and was founded for the purpose of improving the teaching of history in the university, community college, and precollegiate school classroom. Its peer-reviewed quarterly journal, The History Teacher, has been published since 1967.



Areas of Specialization: teaching of history

Enrollment :
Degrees in History:

Areas of Specialization: teaching of history

A. Collections and Libraries

The Society maintains a complete collection of The History Teacher in both physical and electronic archives. Additionally, full-text, open-access to recent issues and archives of The History Teacher is available at www.thehistoryteacher.org.

B. Programs

AHA Member Discounts are available to individual and institutional members of the American Historical Association, offering 15% savings on subscriptions to The History Teacher. This option may be added when starting or renewing AHA membership.

C. Publications

Society members receive The History Teacher, published quarterly in November, February, May, and August, the most widely recognized professional publication in the United States devoted to the teaching of history in the university, community college, and precollegiate school. The society maintains a library of back issues of The History Teacher, which are available for purchase.

D. Fellowships and Awards

The Eugene Asher Distinguished Teaching Award, established in 1986, recognizes outstanding teaching and advocacy for history teaching at two-year, four-year, and graduate colleges and universities. The award is named for the late Eugene Asher, for many years a leading advocate for history teaching. The Society for History Education (SHE) shares with the AHA sponsorship of the award. It recognizes inspiring teachers whose techniques and mastery of subject matter made a lasting impression and substantial difference to students of history. Members of the AHA and SHE submit nominations to the Committee on Teaching Prizes. Visit www.historians.org/awards-and-grants/awards-and-prizes/eugene-asher-award for more information and deadlines.

The Richard and Louise Wilde Award, offered in conjunction with the Department of History at California State University, Long Beach invites applications from CSULB students in master’s, credential, and advanced undergraduate programs. The award is named for the late Richard Wilde and his wife Louise Wilde, a duo who helped shape the history of California State University, Long Beach as well as The History Teacher. Applicants must demonstrate strong interest in pedagogy, specifically in teaching history. The recipient also receives a year-long student internship with the editorial board of The History Teacher. Visit www.cla.csulb.edu/departments/history/awards-and-scholarships for more information and deadlines.


Doctoral Program Information

Not applicable

Directory of History Dissertations

Doctoral Program Statistics :
PhD students currently enrolled: 0
PhD applications received: 0
New PhD students: 0
% of students receiving tuition waivers: 0
% of students receiving stipends: 0


Alkana, Linda Kelly (PHD, California, Irvine, 1985; ; Editorial Board member) modern Europe, women, critical thought; linda.alkana@csulb.edu
Archibald, Melissa (MA, California State, Long Beach, 2015; ; Editorial Board member) US, cultural, history education; marchibald@occ.cccd.edu
Binkiewicz, Donna M. (PHD, UCLA, 1997; ; Editorial Board member) social, cultural; donna.binkiewicz@csulb.edu
Dabel, Jane E. (PHD, UCLA, 2000; ; secretary and editor, The History Teacher) late 19th-century US, Afro-American, gender; jane.dabel@csulb.edu
Hamilton, Gail E. (MA, California State, Long Beach, 2010; ; Editorial Board member) history education, middle school, world; ghamilton@csulb.edu
Herrera, Elisa (MA, California State, Long Beach, 2007; ; dir. and managing editor; The History Teacher) history education, US, Middle East; herrera@thehistoryteacher.org
Igmen, Ali F. (PHD, Washington, 2004; ; Editorial Board member) Central Asia, Soviet Union, Turkic diaspora; ali.igmen@csulb.edu
Keirn, Tim W. (OMS, London Sch. Econ., 1982; ; Editorial Board member) history education, Britain; tim.keirn@csulb.edu
Kuo, Margaret (PHD, UCLA, 2003; ; Editorial Board member) modern China; margaret.kuo@csulb.edu
Luhr, Eileen S. (PHD, California, Irvine, 2004; ; Editorial Board member and pres.) US, cultural, religious; eileen.luhr@csulb.edu
Neumann, Dave (PHD, Southern California, 2016; ; Editorial Board member) history education, US; djneumann@cpp.edu
Shafer, David (PHD, London, 1994; ; treasurer) French social and cultural; david.shafer@csulb.edu
Sheridan, David Allen (PHD, Southern California, 2007; ; Editorial Board member) modern Europe, Britain, music, gender, culture; david.sheridan@csulb.edu
Weber, William A. (PHD, Chicago, 1970; ; Editorial Board member) modern Europe, music social; william.weber@csulb.edu